Zing Snap!

Signs I did not know about

1 Comment

Ignorance is a birch. It grows tall, and swings between the border of arrogance and innocence. In 2006 I crossed the Atlantic Ocean carrying with me, without knowing it, its sprouting seeds.

I came to the land of windmills and discovered that windmills were not in every corner. That most Dutch do not wear wooden shoes, and that the only realistic traveling brochure information was the delicious Gouda cheese and how flowers were highly commercialized. Oh, yes, and the bikes.

I always joke saying that a Dutch learns how to ride a bicycle before he or she learns to walk. Bikes are highly used here for transport, not just for sports. Therefore, having a good infrastructure for cycling is crucial for the country. And believe me, they do have it.

In 2013 there were almost 35.000 km (21748 miles)  of cycle lanes here. Not bad for a country with a total area of  41,526 km (16,033 sq miles). The lanes have plenty of  traffic signs, more than enough to keep a smooth ride.

Two-way bike lane

One-way bike lane, in red, on the street.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bike lane, and pedestrian sidewalk to the right.

Crossing a street. Bike lane next to a pedestrian (zebra) crossing.

 

 

And yet, as I unpacked my lack of knowledge of Dutch culture, I achieved feats very few did. For example, being stared at by eyebrow-lifted faces because I managed to ride on a wrong-way lane. I remember the very first time I rode a bike here. I rode for quite a distance on a pedestrian sidewalk not realizing that the second sidewalk was the lane for bicycles.

Once I stared at a sign, for quite some time, trying to figure out what the heck the white round sign with a thick red border meant. If you are planning to drive or ride in The Netherlands, I suggest you research a little about the traffic signs here. Here is a link to a website with a nice and informative video about them. http://bicycledutch.wordpress.com/2012/06/04/road-signs-for-cycling-in-the-netherlands/

And of course no good traffic system exists without traffic lights. When I first saw a traffic light for bicycles here, I was in awe. – That’s because where I come from, only the pedestrian ones were available. – I confess that while waiting at the cycling light that day, I wanted to stay for a couple of minutes more. Just to see the little bike pictogram turn from red to green on the command of a button.

If you live in a place with similar infrastructure, all this might not seem like such a big deal. I understand. After all, novelty is amazing until it fades into the ordinary.

One thought on “Signs I did not know about

  1. Ia ia, pra quem mora no Brasil tudo isso é inacreditável mesmo!!!!! Aqui os ciclistas não tem vez de jeito nenhum, são costumeiramente atropelados por carros ou motos e xingados até pelos pedestres! Agora estamos com um programa de ciclovia todos os domingos, eles colocam cones nas ruas delimitando o espaço para as bicicletas, já é alguma coisa.

Hmmm, I wonder what you are thinking...

